The Top 3 Reasons Why You’re Not That Successful

They’re not what you think.

Jessica Wildfire
6 min readJan 2, 2023
Photo by Jernej Graj on Unsplash

Recently I found myself asking this question:

“Why aren’t you more successful?”

Everyone defines success in their own way, but most definitions have a few things in common. They share a degree of recognition and financial independence. Even if they talk about meaning and purpose, most of these people still have a roof over their heads and don’t worry about their children’s future. Sadly, fewer of us are achieving that than ever. The average zoomer today makes $33,800.

My partner struggles to understand my attitude sometimes. He went to a private high school. He went to a private college. His parents supported him for a year after graduating while he worked a low-paying job that fueled his passion. His family paid for him to travel around the world. Over time, he had to learn about his privilege.

While my husband was hiking through the Alps or whatever, I was teaching at tech schools and HBCUs. I was fighting poverty and injustice in the corridor of shame. (Look it up.)

When questions of success start nagging me, I get curious about all of these people making fortunes online.

I read up.

--

--