Okay, Medium. I Get It. I’m Not Good Enough.

I’ll be packing my bags.

Jessica Wildfire
7 min readOct 5, 2022
Photo by Vyacheslav Sukhanov on Unsplash

Earlier this year, some dude sent me a list of questions. One of them was, “Why don’t you write for major magazines?” Later, he wrote a blog post saying I wasn’t a good writer. If I were, I’d have bylines in places like The Atlantic or The New Yorker.

Before that, another dude wrote an entire blog post about how he doesn’t read my work because it’s “too good,” and suggested to his substantial following that they do the same.

Around that same time, a chick bragged about writing pieces inspired by spite at my success.

Now they just accuse me of doomsaying.

What a bunch of assholes…

For the record, big newspapers and magazines have asked me to write for them, and I turned them down. Getting asked to write for a big magazine used to be something I fantasized about. At this point in my career, I don’t care. I don’t like writing for big publications.

It never works out.

Lately, Medium feels a lot like those assholes. My last post is getting 10 times more traffic on Substack right now, as it sinks down into obscurity here. My work isn’t appreciated by the people in charge, no matter how well it does or how many people like it.

--

--