Don’t always go the extra mile

Why some things just don’t deserve your best effort.

Jessica Wildfire
5 min readMay 11, 2018
Photo by Kalen Emsley on Unsplash

Always do your best. Your parents probably told you that. Or maybe a cartoon did. They meant well. But they were wrong. Sometimes, you should do less than your best. On purpose.

Don’t throw your time and energy away on jobs or expectations that don’t matter. Save it for big projects and people who appreciate you.

Back in college, I worked my ass off at my first job — a bar that served “food.” Until the owner threatened to fire me for saying hi to some friends. That night convinced me to stop trying so hard.

It didn’t matter how great I was at serving patrons. The only thing that did was looking busy. After a month, I stopped caring so much. Good enough was fine. Not like a promotion was waiting for me.

Assholes will tell you to give everything your all. They don’t care about your life goals. They just want a flirty waitress who refills drinks before they have to expend an ounce of their precious breath.

They want the perfect amount of foam on their latte. And if you can etch their name on it with caramel, that means you’re really going places. Maybe an extra twenty five cents per hour.

--

--