Did Medium’s New CEO Just Call Me “Divisive” and “Under-Informed?”

It sure sounds that way.

Jessica Wildfire
5 min readOct 7, 2022
Photo by Karen Cantú Q on Unsplash

My 5th-grade English teacher accused me of plagiarism. My 8th-grade English teacher accused me of plagiarism. My 10th-grade English teacher accused me of plagiarism.

My college anthropology teacher accused me of plagiarism. My graduate thesis director accused me of plagiarism.

Each time, the burden of proof fell on me. The only evidence they had was that it was “too good.” So, I had to narrate my writing process. Sometimes, I had to show them drafts.

These days, I don’t get accused of plagiarism. I just get accused of seducing readers with my “under-informed” viral clickbait. It’s the same thing, just different phrasing.

It never ends.

Medium’s new CEO wonders if I’m “divisive.”

Recently, I said I was thinking about leaving Medium, because the platform had made a very decisive turn against writers like me. It’s reminiscent of the days when male self-help writers dominated with catchy, superficial listicles that enshrined their own personal worldviews as life advice. My piece generated quite a response.

It even caught Tony Stubblebine’s attention.

--

--